Your child obtaining a junior permit or a junior license could be an exciting time for the both of you! The key to avoiding frustration during this new part of your child’s life is practicing safe driving. Along with being alert on the roads, it is necessary to know the restrictions that apply to these forms of documents. Knowing the rules of the road is important when it comes to getting behind the wheel. To avoid potential issues, you should review the following guidelines with your new, young driver.
- Driving is only permitted from 5AM to 9PM in Nassau and Suffolk Counties
- Can only get behind the wheel with a supervising driver such as a parent, guardian, a person in “loco parentis,” a person authorized by your parents via writing, or a driver education teacher or a driving school instructor
- Must hold your junior permit a minimum of 6 months before taking the road test
- If driving in New York City, the automobile must have dual brakes similar to those in driving-education vehicles
Junior License (after passing a road test)
- Driving unsupervised, although liberating, comes with its own responsibilities and restrictions
- Can only have one passenger under the age of 21 years of age
- Cannot use any electronic devices while driving
- Cannot drive in New York City
- There are still time restrictions that you have to abide by
Violations of these restrictions have consequences: penalties include fines ranging from $75-$300 and up to 15 days in jail. Always remember to remind your child to take extra caution when on the road. Younger drivers are involved in more serious crashes than any other age group! No matter how well your child does on his or her exams or lessons, the first year of unsupervised driving is the most dangerous year due to lack of experience behind the wheel. In unprecedented situations, one might not know how to avoid an accident, where as an experienced driver may maneuver with greater assurance.
As a parent, you should set some form of a driving agreement with your child for extra precaution. This agreement would include guidelines and rules: no driving with loud music, no more than two friends in the car at once, no driving in areas you haven’t driven before after dusk, and ask for permission to use the car.
By Aleksandra Aronova